Makeup Artist Initiate Series: Do’s & Don’t

For the month of June, I’m going to dedicate my weekly blog posts to all my budding makeup artists out there. I remember being on my laptop night and day trying to prepare and educate myself for the next step in my Makeup Artistry business. But I think we can all agree that in this business, almost all of your wisdom is received by doing makeup. I find that that’s the funnest thing about it. It’s immediately rewarding. I work hard, dream, create – and the results are right in front me.

If this is the career for you, I have good news for you…

You’ll have a hard time being stagnant. I learn so much while being in the process even if it’s the thousandth time I’ve done it. My attention to detail and perfectionism (which I guarantee you have too) focuses in on my work and shows me where I need to improve and where I am on point.

Should I do something I don’t like, I’ll keep note and stay clear of repeating it in the future. Likewise during the process, I find a lot of shortcuts and different ways to make my work more efficient and flawless. And this is where my series comes in.

I know what it’s like to start from ground zero. Not too long ago I was dreaming of my would be career, watching Wayne Goss on YouTube. Not only did I come from a blank slate for professional Makeup Artistry but I carried with me such a deep respect for the industry that my self esteem crumbled under the weight of it. I had a deep need to bust out of my shell and do something I felt in my bones.

But alas there is always someone guarding the bridge you’re about to cross. I like to think of that fear-based voice in my head like a… mystical midget version of myself guarding the bridge. She means well, she stands in front of my road to happiness and she’s kind of an a-hole. My midget would list out my limiting beliefs in order to jab me back:

  •  I’m not knowledgeable or know cool tricks. I won’t be able to pull it off.
  •  I’m not in the inner circle of the beauty industry, I’ll never get the know how of what the best brands are and I’ll always be one step behind. (I decided to go get certified before officially launching my Makeup Artistry business, though I now like to think my career officially started at age 13).
  • It wasn’t my first career. Will anyone take me seriously? (I was an accounting major before I took Makeup Artistry)

Well I have news for you, though that little voice may share some truth – but I say “So what – now what brah?” What next? None of these are reasons to really off set my happiness. And yes career choice is a huge source of happiness – WHY? Because next to sleeping it’s what you spend most of your time doing so it better damn  well wet your whistle.

So when you hear these verbal walls going up in your head, ask yourself:

  • Are these even my truths? (They could be your parents, siblings, husband, ex-boyfriend, previous employer)
  • Is this the only truth? There are so many other angles to focus on.
  • Do you still want this to be your truth? Beliefs are very transparent in a person despite your poker face.
  • How have you already or will prove this belief wrong?

If you’re mystical midget also seems to be chiming in on the same song mine once was, I’m here to comfort you. I will be your loop into the beauty industry. I’m going to share useful knowledge to help you with your everyday routine. And the second you do Makeup Artistry, you are a Makeup Artist. What level you take it to is totally up to you.

So I hope my “Makeup Artist Initiate Series” inspires you to try new things and bust some mystical midgets! It’s your time to find your place in this wonderful industry. During each post, I will outline an important “Do” and “Don’t.” Feel free to comment or message to get your topics addressed during the series.

Stay tuned for more to come!

Next week’s “Do’s & Don’t” is on the topic of foundation products for your kit.

Leave a Reply

